Home

Spectator Guide

You have never been on a rally and you want attend ? This page is for you! The rally is a unique spectacle, follow my guide and you will not be disappointed, believe me!

Above all, don't expect watching too much... I know you would hope to see the maximum number of stages but you risk seeing nothing! I thus advise you to plan to see two stages per day, one in the morning and the other in the afternoon. This will give you time to move about between stages, or choose only one stage which is run on several occurences. Watch out, if you decide to go on two different stages, make sure there is enough time gap to travel to the other stage, because of the growing popularity of this sport, you risk arriving late and being forced to park far away from the rally route and too far from the best spots to watch the first competitors pass. I can tell you that it is very frustrating.

Make sure you have a map and study your itinerary. It will be necessary to find good roads to reach the stages and to find a good place to park. The nice trick that I can give you is not to take the advised access roads, they are very quickly saturated, instead take the small, quiet roads and you will realize that it is much faster.

Now, you have to prepare your "package", for that, start by getting a good backpack. Inside, you will need a good map which enabled you to find the roads/places you need. You will also need to take something to eat because you will spend time walking and waiting with out anything to do. A good raincoat or a waterproof blanket will be useful to sit on the snow or grass in order to watch passing competitors without getting soaked. You will want to take a camera or camcorder to shoot or film these great moments. Lastly, I advise you to take along a bike, a child's scooter if this is possible or I don't know what other means of transport to go back to your car after the race because it can save you a lot of time.

As regards to clothes : hot clothing, gloves, cap/woolly hat, thick coat and walking shoes are required (for the Monte Carlo of course).

Also pay attention not to leave too late... Better be ready than sorry !

Now that your bag is packed here are some precautions:

1) If you come by car on the stage, park it without obstructing anybody and especially not the access path for the test and safety services.

2) Do not take any risks such as crossing the road between two passages if you do not have visibility. Keep well away from the passing cars as it is very dangerous and you can get seriously injured!

3) The most important thing for you to remember is "Am I safe where I am standing/watching the rally", the areas indicated in red on the diagrams below show where you must NOT be. If the driver misses a fast bend or brakes too late on a junction, he could easily use you to slow down if you know what I mean.

Finally, thank for not throwing snow or rocks on the road, for the sake of security. It would be very silly to see another time what happened in 2005 : Solberg and Grönholm had to retire after having slipped on a plate of snow deposited by spectators. Firstly, it puts everybody in danger and secondly it disturbs the rally. Thank you !

And please respect the environment.

Now, I wish you a very good rally! Be safe, let me know how you got on and send me your pictures, videos and comments of the Turini by email.

Accueil

Guide du fan

Le rallye est un spectacle unique, fabuleux, extraordinaire... les superlatifs ne manquent pas ! Mais pour en profiter au maximum, mieux vaut bien préparer ça. Cette page est là pour ça.

Premier conseil : ne pas prévoir un programme trop chargé. A vouloir trop en faire vous risquez de ne rien voir du tout ! Je vous conseille donc de choisir deux spéciales par jour (pour le Monte Carl'), soit en en prévoyant une le matin et une autre l'après-midi, le temps de se déplacer sans se presser, soit en choisissant un seul chrono qui est parcouru à plusieurs reprises lors d'une même étape ; dans ce dernier cas vous pourrez peut-être espérer vous rendre sur un troisième chrono. Attention, si vous décidez de vous rendre sur deux spéciales différentes, prévoyez un laps de temps large car la popularité de ce sport est plus grande que vous ne pouvez l'imaginer et vous risquez, en arrivant limite, de vous retrouver forcé de vous garer à des kilomètres de la spéciale alors que les premiers concurrents passent et, pour l'avoir vécu, je peux vous dire que c'est très frustrant

Seconde étape : trouver le bon itinéraire pour accéder à la spéciale, trouver où se garer et organiser vos déplacements en fonction du programme appétissant que vous vous êtes mijoté. La petite astuce que je peux donner est de ne pas prendre les routes d'accès conseillées, elles sont très vite saturées, prenez plutôt les petites routes quitte à rallonger la route, vous constaterez que c'est bien plus rapide.

Il ne reste maintenant plus qu'à préparer le sac. Carte(s), nourriture et eau, couverture imperméable (pas forcément très agréable de s'assoir dans la neige ou dans l'herbe mouillée), appareil photo ou caméra (ce serait bête de ne pas immortaliser ces grands moments), vêtements chauds (manteau épais, gants, bonnet...) et chaussures de montagne. Il est également astucieux d'emmener avec soi un vélo ou je ne sais quel autre moyen de transport pour se déplacer sur la spéciale, cela permet de gagner beaucoup de temps pour rejoindre la voiture, temps précieux si vous devez aller sur une autre spéciale après.

Faire également attention à ne pas partir trop tard... mieux vaut prévenir que guérir !!!

Enfin, il est primordial, quand on se rend sur un tel événement, de connaître les consignes de sécurité à respecter, pour sa santé et pour le bon déroulement de l'épreuve (beaucoup de spéciales sont annulées pour ça) :

1/ Ne pas garer la voiture à un endroit génant.

2/ Ne pas traverser la route entre deux passages si vous n'avez pas de visibilité. Ne pas essayer de toucher la voiture lorsqu'elle passe.

3/ Ne pas se placer aux endroits indiqués en rouge sur les schémas ci-dessous : si le pilote négocie mal le virage, il pourrait vous foncer dessus !

Merci de ne pas jetter de neige ou de cailloux sur la route, pour la sécurité des pilotes et pour celle des spectateurs. Il serait stupide que ce qu'il s'est passé en 2005 se reproduise, à savoir l'abandon de Grönholm et Solberg qui tous deux ont glissé sur une plaque de neige disposée par des spectateurs. Primo, cela met en danger tout le monde et deuzio ça perturbe le bon déroulement de la course.

Et bien sûr, respecter la nature.

Je vous souhaite un excellent rallye, soyez prudent et profitez-en bien ! Et pensez à m'envoyer vos vidéos, photos et commentaires de la spéciale du Turini par email.