Home

Monte Carlo Rally 1973

The 1973 edition of the Monte Carlo Rally is interesting in more ways than one. First of all, it's the first rally of the that year newly instated World Rally Championship for marks. And, as we will see, this edition was particularly plagued by disputes and several rows, as competition grew fierce.

But first of all let us observe the involved forces. At that time, the marks engaged in rallying are numerous, explaining the creation of a championship especially for them, even before the drivers would get their own WRC. One can quote for the 1973 season, on various levels of involvement, the presence of Alpine-Renault, Alfa-Romeo, BMW, Citroen, Datsun, Fiat, Ford, Lancia, Opel, Saab, and Toyota. This first world championship consists of thirteen rounds, of which nine results will count towards the championship.

Of these teams, Alpine-Renault is certainly the team which posts the strongest ambitions. Renault has just taken the majority of the capital of the firm Alpine. With sports-director Jacques Cheinisse now under the direct orders of Renault president Jean Terramossi. The car is the famous "berlinette" A110 1800, with a reinforced pinion box of R12 Gordini origin. In addition, the Alpine team has a formidable collection of french pilots, the three musketeers Jean-Luc Thérier, Bernard Darniche and Jean-Pierre Nicolas. For this Monte Carlo, Ove Andersson (who already won the 1971 edition), Jean-François Piot and Jean-Claude Andruet came to reinforce the works team. In addition to that Bob Wolleck and Claude Ballot entered with semi-private "berlinettes".

Most significant competitors facing the Alpine team were Sandro Munari in the Lancia Fulvia HF, Timo Makinen and Hannu Mikkola in the Ford Escort RS1600 and Bjorn Waldegaard and Rafaele Pinto (the European champion) in the Fiat 124 Abarth.

Overview of the Monte Carlo 1973 :

  • From 19 to January 21: Concentration run (approximately 2500 km). Towns of departure: Améria, Athens, Frankfurt, Glasgow, Assemble-Carlo, Oslo, Rheims, Rome and Warsaw. The concentration run ends in a special stage of 17 km.

  • January 23 and 24: Common test Monaco - Vals-les-Bains - Uriage - Monaco, divided into 25 legs (1653 km) including 8 stages (236 km).

  • January 25 and 26: Complementary test Monaco - Monaco reserved to the first 60 of the general classification, broken up into 11 legs (670 km) including 7 stages by night (153 km).

At the start of this 42nd edition of the Monte Carlo Rally were 270 crews.

The race :

The concentration run does not represent the same challenge as it could be in pre-war editions of the Monte Carlo. However, it is not without incidence as this year the constabulary is particularly present on the french roads. It writes out nearly 170 tickets corresponding to as many traffic violations, most of them for speeding, and some competitors are even withdrawn from the race for not having respected the highway code (for example: crossing of continuous lines and stops)!

At the end of the concentration run, the first stage of the Col du Corobin provides the first real test. As opposed to what one might think, the Alpine team does not immediately dominate the rally. At the first stage Munari (Lancia) takes the lead, followed by Mikkola (Ford), Makinen (Ford), Lampinen (Lancia), Waldegaard (Fiat). Only behind Bjorn the first Alpine of Andruet follows in sixth. But on closer inspection, this result is explained largely by very variable roads conditions. Indeed, the unfolding of the stage is spread out over four hours following the competitors order of arrival in the concentration run.

As of the first stage of the common test, the "Pont de Miolans", the Alpine of Andruet and Thérier set the best time. The time of Thérier is all the more impressive as he was handicapped by frosted carburettors! The other Alpine follows, only the Ford of Mikkola manages to break up the Alpine stronghold by setting himself in third position. From the start of the rally, the Fiat 124 Abarth disappoints and will never be in the race for victory. Mikkola winsbv the second stage of the "Col du Perty", and Munari makes a success of the exploit with his Lancia to take the lead in the rally at the end of the third, that of Burzet, which is extremely difficult.

On the stage of Burzet delay is inevitable, because it will know one of the many scandals which seem to be prerogatives of the Monte Carlo! As often in Ardeche, an icy wind (called the "Burle" in France) blows extremely and, associated with snow, forms snow-drifts. The first 65 crews succeed in passing, but not without trouble. Darniche stalls his car several times and loses much time. Waldegaard with his Fiat tries to pass him, but slides off and is forced to retire. Fritzinger in the Ford Capri also makes a mistake and crashes out. Unfortunately, his co-driver is wounded and needs care. The rally is neutralized to let medical aid arrive at the scene of the accident. The road becomes impracticable. Several undisciplined and unverifiable witnesses try to escape from this white hell, with their own vehicles. Utter chaos. The organization tries to use tractors to release the many cars disseminated here or there, without success. The delay accumulates, which pushes the organizers to exclude the 140 crews which have not been able yet to compete this stage! Of course this decision raises a general outcry. Spontaneously, the excluded competitors block the road towards Digne. In order to calm furious crowd, the organizers promise these unfortunate competitors to offer them free their participation for the 1974 edition. At this time everyone is unaware that the 1974 edition will never take place due to the oil crisis!
The fourth stage which is held in complete dry conditions is perfect for the Alpine. It is won by Darniche, followed by Andruet, Andersson, Thérier, Piot and Nicolas. Andruet takes the lead, in front of Thérier, Munari, Nicolas, Mikkola and Piot. In spite of the start of Munari and of Mikkola who carry out two best times and take the first both places at the end of the SS5 of Saint-Bonnet-Le-Froid, Andruet and his Alpine are of another world in the sixth stage as he firmly takes command of the rally.

In the two last timed sectors of the common test won by Darniche, the Alpine outclasses their adversaries again. In the penultimate stage, that of Saint-Barthélemy, Munari who up to now had performed miracles at the wheel of his old Lancia Fulvia HF crashes and gives up. Jean-Luc Thérier also leaves the road and loses approximately three minutes. Only Mikkola and his Ford manage to be spoilsports. Andruet is still leading, in front of Andersson, Nicolas, Mikkola, Thérier, Makinen and Piot. The small differences predict a fantastic brawl for the complementary test which consists of seven stages by night. It is the most magical moment of the entire rally. The cars hug with the walls of snow, lighting up the night with all the power of their headlights.

The Alpines dominate, and once more, only Mikkola manages to be involved in the battle of the blue cars. The rally seems promised to a crew of the french team, but which?

Jean-Claude Andruet, shouldered by his faithful co-driver "Biche", appears to have hold the best papers for victory. His more savage rival is Ove Andersson. In the first stage (Col de la Madonne), Andersson carries out a remarkable performance besides Nonglad to sign the scratch, he beats the stage record by 40 seconds! In the second (first passage on the Turini) and the third stage, Andersson little by little nibbles time away from the lead of Andruet. Suspense is hitting the roof.

At this time the inconceivable occurs in the fourth stage of the complementary test, the second passage of the Col de Turini: Jean-Claude is victim of a puncture. He thinks he has lost the rally. Despaired, he hesitates to give up, but fortunately "Biche" encourages him and pushes him to finish the stage with a flat tyre. He loses 2 minutes and 25 seconds as well as the lead of the general classification. He is now third at one minute and five seconds of Andersson, while Piot, who does not have a good rally (continuous backpains as a result of an accident in the last Tour of Corsica due to wrong tyre choice) finally takes a scratch.

But in the following stage (col de la Couillote), Andersson makes a mistake, dives in a wall of snow, bursts two tires and loses nearly forty seconds, while Andruet and Nicolas take the scratch with an identical time. Ove now has nothing more than 10 seconds in advance of the second, Jean-Pierre Nicolas. Andruet in the mean while drives like a possessed man, and succeeds in again taking command in the penultimate stage, the last passage on the Turini, with respectively 14 and 21 small seconds advantage on Andersson and Nicolas.

And so the battle will be decided in the 18 km of the "Col de la Madonne". Unfortunately Nicolas will not be able to defend his chances, because his mechanics forgot to fuel his car! Obliged to idly roll on reserve, he nevertheless succeeds in rejoining at the arrival. Andersson leaves as favorite, because he already won the first passage in the Col de la Madonne at the time of the first stage of the complementary course. He puts all his forces in the battle and repeats at the incredibly repeats his first time of 15mn23s! But it is finally a transcended Andruet which obtains the best time with 15mn11s in front of an awestruck Andersson. "Biche" will affirm later than Jean-Claude drove in this stage like never, and that Ove could've never beaten him there. The performance of Andruet is splendid, and he takes without any doubt his most beautiful victory. It should be noted that "Biche" is the first woman to register her name at the head of the general classification of the Monte Carlo.

Final classification :

  1. Andruet / "Biche" (Alpine-Renault A110 1800) : 5h42mn04s
  2. Andersson /- Todt (Alpine-Renault A110 1800) : à 26s
  3. Nicolas / Vial (Alpine-Renault A110 1800) : à 1mn35s
  4. Mikkola / Porter (Ford Escort RS) : à 2mn25s
  5. Thérier / Callewaert (Alpine-Renault A110 1800) : à 3mn57s
  6. Piot / Marnat (Alpine-Renault A110 1800) : à 3mn58s
  7. Pinto / Bernacchini (Fiat 124 Rallye) : à 10mn10s
  8. Kallstrom / Billstam (Lancia Fulvia HF) : à 10mn11s
  9. Fall / Wood (Datsun 240 Z) : à 11mn43s 1
  10. Darniche / Mahé (Alpine-Renault A110 1800) : à 15mn04s

At the general classification, Andruet precedes Andersson, then follow Nicolas, valiant Mikkola, Thérier and Piot. The triumph of the Alpine team is absolute, since one finds five "berlinettes" in the first six places! This splendid result will be followed by more, since Alpine, entering its cars on eight other rallies, will gain five additional victories. Darniche will gain the Morocco Rally, Jean-Pierre Nicolas the French round (Corsica), a rally marked by a new triplet of the Alpine. But the most powerful pilot of the season is without question Jen-Luc Thérier who will win three rallies: Portugal, Acropolis and Sanremo. Without a doubt he would have been crowned driver champion of the world, if only this title had existed at the time.

1973 is the apogee of the Alpine-Renault team in rally. It easily takes the first Manufacturers World Rally Championship with 155 points, in front of Fiat (89 points), Ford (76 points), and Saab (54 points)...


Text written by Philippe CALLAIS (2002) and published with its pleasant authorization.
Watch his web site : click here

Sources :
* Maurice Louche, "Le rallye de Monte-Carlo au XXe siècle", éditions Maurice Louche, 2001
* Christian Descombes, "Alpine, Label bleu", éditions EPA, 1991
* Reinhard Klein, "Rally", Könemann, 1998
* Gilles Vallerian, "Championnat du monde des rallyes 1973: le sacre de la berlinette", Automobile historique n°8 de mai/juin 2001
* Echappement N°53 de Mars 1973

Accueil

Rallye de Monte Carlo 1973

L'édition 1973 du rallye de Monte Carlo est intéressante à plus d'un titre. Il s'agit tout d'abord de la toute première manche du championnat du monde des marques nouvellement créé. Et, comme nous allons le voir, cette édition fut particulièrement disputée, et riche en rebondissements.

Mais observons tout d'abord les forces en présence. A cette époque, les marques engagées en rallyes sont nombreuses, et ceci explique d'ailleurs la création d'un championnat marque, avant même que le championnat pilote n'existe. On peut citer pour la saison 1973 la présence, à des niveaux divers d'implication, de Alpine-Renault, Alfa-Romeo, BMW, Citroën, Datsun, Fiat, Ford, Lancia, Opel, Saab, ou encore Toyota. Ces équipes participeront toutes au championnat du monde 1973, qui compte treize épreuves, mais n'ont pas obligation d'aligner leurs voitures sur chacune des manches, sachant par ailleurs que seuls neuf résultats sont comptabilisés.

Alpine-Renault est certainement l'équipe qui affiche les plus fortes ambitions. Renault vient tout juste de prendre la majorité du capital de la firme dieppoise. A la tête du service compétition, on retrouve Jacques Cheinisse qui est maintenant sous les ordres directs de Jean Terramossi, homme de la Régie. La voiture est la fameuse berlinette A110 1800 groupe 4, avec une boîte à pignons renforcés d'origine R12 Gordini. Par ailleurs, l'équipe Alpine dispose d'une formidable brochette de pilotes: les trois mousquetaires que sont les Français Jean-Luc Thérier, Bernard Darniche et Jean-Pierre Nicolas. A ce trio, il faut ajouter pour le Monte Carlo Ove Andersson qui a déjà remporté l'édition 1971, Jean-François Piot et Jean-Claude Andruet pour l'équipe officielle, sans oublier Bob Wolleck et Claude Ballot sur des berlinettes semi-privées.

Face à Alpine, on trouve, entre autres, Sandro Munari sur Lancia Fulvia HF, Timo Makinen et Hannu Mikkola sur Ford Escort RS, et Bjorn Waldegaard et Rafaele Pinto (le champion d'Europe en titre) sur Fiat 124 Abarth.

Présentation du rallye de Monte Carlo 1973 :

  • du 19 au 21 janvier : Parcours de concentration (environ 2500 km). Villes de départ: Améria, Athènes, Francfort, Glasgow, Monte Carlo, Oslo, Reims, Rome et Varsovie. Le parcours de concentration se termine par une épreuve spéciale de 17 km.

  • les 23 et 24 janvier : Epreuve commune Monaco - Vals-les-Bains - Uriage - Monaco, décomposée en 25 étapes (1653 km) dont 8 spéciales ( 236 km).

  • les 25 et 26 janvier : Epreuve complémentaire Monaco - Monaco réservée aux 60 premiers du classement général, décomposée en 11 étapes (670 km) dont 7 spéciales de nuit (153 km).

Au départ de cette 42ème édition du rallye de Monte Carlo on dénombre 270 engagés.

Déroulement de l'épreuve :

La concentration ne représente plus un défi sportif comme cela pouvait être le cas lors des éditions d'avant-guerre du Monte Carlo. Cependant, elle n'est pas sans incidence sur la suite de l'épreuve. Cette année, la maréchaussée est particulièrement présente. Elle relève près de 170 infractions correspondant à autant d'excès de vitesse, et certains concurrents sont même mis hors course pour n'avoir pas respecté le code de la route (franchissement de lignes continues ou de stops)!

A la fin de la concentration, la première spéciale du Col du Corobin donne son verdict. Et contrairement à ce que l'on pourrait penser de prime abord, les Alpine ne commencent pas le rallye par une domination sans partage, puisque l'on trouve en tête Munari (Lancia), suivi de Mikkola ( Ford), Makinen (Ford), Lampinen (Lancia), Waldegaard (Fiat). Derrière Bjorn suit la première Alpine, celle d'Andruet. Mais à y regarder de plus près, ce résultat s'explique par des conditions de routes très variables. En effet, le déroulement de la spéciale est étalé sur quatre heures suivant l'ordre d'arrivée des concurrents terminant la concentration.

Dès la première spéciale de l'épreuve commune, le Pont des Miolans, les Alpine d'Andruet et de Thérier signent le meilleur temps. Le chrono de Thérier est d'autant plus impressionnant qu'il a été handicapé par des carburateurs givrés! Les autres Alpine suivent, seule la Ford de Mikkola parvient à s'intercaler en troisième position. D'entrée de jeu, les Fiat 124 Abarth déçoivent et ne seront jamais dans le coup. Mikkola remporte la deuxième spéciale du col du Perty, et Munari réussit l'exploit avec sa Lancia de prendre la tête du rallye à l'issue de la troisième, celle du Burzet, qui est extrêmement difficile.

La spéciale du Burzet mérite que l'on s'y attarde, car elle va connaître l'un des nombreux scandales qui sont l'apanage du rallye de Monte Carlo! Comme souvent en Ardèche, ce vent glacial que l'on appelle la Burle souffle fort et, associé à la neige, forme des congères. Les 65 premiers équipages réussissent à passer, non sans mal. Darniche s'enlise plusieurs fois et perd beaucoup de temps. Waaldegard avec sa Fiat lui propose de passer devant mais sort et abandonne. Fritzinger sur Ford Capri part lui aussi à la faute. Malheureusement, son copilote est blessé et a besoin de soins. Le rallye est neutralisé pour laisser les secours arriver sur les lieux. La route devient impraticable. Plusieurs spectateurs indisciplinés et incontrôlables tentent de s'échapper de cet enfer blanc, avec leurs propres véhicules. C'est le chaos. L'organisation tente de faire parvenir des tracteurs afin de dégager les nombreuses automobiles disséminées ici ou là, sans succès. Le retard s'accumule, ce qui pousse les organisateurs... à mettre hors course les 140 équipages qui n'ont pas encore pu disputer la spéciale! Cette décision soulève bien entendu un tollé général. Spontanément, des exclus bloquent la route vers Digne. Afin de calmer le jeu, les organisateurs promettent à ces infortunés concurrents de leur offrir gratuitement leur participation pour l'édition 1974. Mais tout le monde ignore alors que cette édition 1974 n'aura pas lieu, à cause de la crise pétrolière!

La quatrième spéciale qui se déroule sur le sec convient parfaitement aux Alpine. Elle est remportée par Darniche, suivi d'Andruet, Andersson, Thérier, Piot et Nicolas. Andruet prend la tête, devant Thérier, Munari, Nicolas, Mikkola et Piot. Malgré le sursaut de Munari sur Lancia et de Mikkola sur Ford qui réalisent les deux meilleurs temps et prennent les deux premières places à l'issue de la cinquième spéciale de Saint-Bonnet-Le-Froid, Andruet et son Alpine sont intraitables dans la sixième spéciale et prennent solidement le commandement.

Dans les deux dernières spéciales de l'épreuve commune remportées par Darniche, les Alpine surclassent à nouveau leurs adversaires. Dans l'avant-dernière, celle de Saint-Barthélemy, Munari qui jusqu'ici avait fait des miracles au volant de sa Lancia Fulvia HF vieillissante sort et abandonne. Jean-Luc Thérier sort lui aussi et perd environ trois minutes. Seuls Mikkola et sa Ford parviennent à jouer les trouble-fête. Andruet est alors en tête, devant Andersson, Nicolas, Mikkola, Thérier, Makinen et Piot. Les faibles écarts laissent présager une fantastique bagarre pour l'épreuve complémentaire qui, rappelons-le, est constituée de sept spéciales nocturnes. C'est le moment le plus magique de l'épreuve. Les voitures flirtent avec les murs de neige, éclairant la nuit de toute la puissance de leurs phares.

Les Alpine dominent de la tête et des épaules, et une fois de plus, seul Mikkola parvient à s'immiscer au milieu des voitures bleues. Le Monte semble donc promis à un équipage de la marque dieppoise, mais lequel?

Jean-Claude Andruet, épaulé par sa fidèle coéquipière "Biche", parait le mieux parti pour la victoire. Son plus farouche rival est Ove Andersson. Dans la première spéciale (col de la Madone), Andersson réalise d'ailleurs une performance remarquable. Non content de signer le scratch, il bat le record de l'épreuve de 40 secondes! Dans la seconde (premier passage dans le Turini) et la troisième spéciale, Andersson grignote peu à peu son retard sur Andruet. Le suspense est à son comble.

C'est alors que l'inconcevable se produit dans la quatrième spéciale de l'épreuve complémentaire, le deuxième passage du col du Turini: Jean-Claude est victime d'une crevaison. Il pense avoir perdu le rallye. Désespéré, il est à deux doigts d'abandonner, mais heureusement "Biche" l'encourage et le pousse à terminer la spéciale avec un pneu arrière gauche à plat. Il perd ainsi 2 minutes 25 secondes ainsi que la tête du classement général. Il est désormais troisième à une minute et cinq secondes d'Andersson, tandis que Piot, qui ne connaît pas un bon rallye (douleurs au dos consécutives à un accident au dernier Tour de Corse, mauvais choix de pneus,...) signe enfin le scratch.

Mais dans le chrono suivant (col de la Couillote), Andersson fait une faute, tape dans un mur de neige, crève deux pneus et perd près de quarante secondes, tandis qu'Andruet et Nicolas signent le scratch avec un temps identique. Ove n'a plus que 10 secondes d'avance sur le deuxième, Jean-Pierre Nicolas. Andruet est remonté comme jamais, et réussit à reprendre le commandement dans l'avant-dernière spéciale, le dernier passage dans le Turini, avec respectivement 14 et 21 petites secondes d'avance sur Andersson et Nicolas.

Tout se joue donc dans les 18 km de l'épreuve du col de la Madone. Nicolas ne pourra malheureusement pas défendre ses chances, car ses mécaniciens ont oublié d'effectuer son plein de carburant! Obligé de rouler au ralenti sur la réserve, il réussit néanmoins à rallier l'arrivée. Andersson part favori, car il a déjà remporté le premier passage dans le Col de la Madone lors de la première spéciale du parcours complémentaire. Il met toutes ses forces dans la bataille et réédite à la seconde près son chrono époustouflant de 15mn 23s! Mais c'est finalement un Andruet transcendé qui obtient le meilleur temps avec 15mn 11s devant un Andersson médusé. "Biche" affirmera plus tard que Jean-Claude a conduit dans cette spéciale comme jamais, et que Ove n'en est jamais revenu. La performance d'Andruet est splendide, et il remporte sans aucun doute ainsi sa plus belle victoire. A noter que "Biche" est la première femme à inscrire son nom en tête du classement général du Monte Carlo.

Classement général :

  1. Andruet / "Biche" (Alpine-Renault A110 1800) : 5h42mn04s
  2. Andersson /- Todt (Alpine-Renault A110 1800) : à 26s
  3. Nicolas / Vial (Alpine-Renault A110 1800) : à 1mn35s
  4. Mikkola / Porter (Ford Escort RS) : à 2mn25s
  5. Thérier / Callewaert (Alpine-Renault A110 1800) : à 3mn57s
  6. Piot / Marnat (Alpine-Renault A110 1800) : à 3mn58s
  7. Pinto / Bernacchini (Fiat 124 Rallye) : à 10mn10s
  8. Kallstrom / Billstam (Lancia Fulvia HF) : à 10mn11s
  9. Fall / Wood (Datsun 240 Z) : à 11mn43s 1
  10. Darniche / Mahé (Alpine-Renault A110 1800) : à 15mn04s

Au classement général, Andruet devance donc Andersson, puis suivent Nicolas, le vaillant Mikkola, Thérier et Piot. Le triomphe de l'équipe Alpine est total, puisque l'on trouve cinq berlinettes aux six premières places! Ce magnifique résultat en appellera d'autres, puisque Alpine, engageant ses voitures sur huit autres rallyes en gagnera cinq supplémentaires. Darniche gagnera le rallye du Maroc. Jean-Pierre Nicolas s'imposera au Tour de Corse, marqué par un nouveau triplé des Alpine. Mais le pilote le plus performant de la saison est sans conteste Jean-Luc Thérier qui remportera lui trois rallyes: le Portugal, l'Acropole, et le Sanremo. Il aurait sans contestation possible été couronné champion du monde des pilotes, si seulement ce titre avait existé à l'époque.

L'année 1973 est l'apogée de l'équipe Alpine-Renault en rallye. Elle gagne haut la main le premier championnat du monde des marques avec 155 points, devant Fiat (89 points), Ford (76 points), Saab (54 points), etc...


Article écrit par Philippe CALLAIS (2002) et publié avec son aimable autorisation.
Voir son site : cliquer ici

Sources :
* Maurice Louche, "Le rallye de Monte-Carlo au XXe siècle", éditions Maurice Louche, 2001
* Christian Descombes, "Alpine, Label bleu", éditions EPA, 1991
* Reinhard Klein, "Rally", Könemann, 1998
* Gilles Vallerian, "Championnat du monde des rallyes 1973: le sacre de la berlinette", Automobile historique n°8 de mai/juin 2001
* Echappement N°53 de Mars 1973