Home

The WRC

The rally is surely one of the most dangerous and spectacular sports in the world. On the toughest roads of the world, racing cars manage to run special stages at amazing speeds. In the bucket seat, fearless drivers often playing with danger risk their life on each portion of the road. The increasingly more demanding world championship makes the show more and more impressive. The drivers are able to face the worst conceivable conditions to be in front in each of the 16 countries accomodating the WRC : on the icy roads of the Monte Carlo, where they need to survive all the tricky conditions of the weather, on the thick Swedish snow they slide with the help of the side walls, on the stony tracks of the Acropolis they try to save their tyres, in Cyprus they hope the car will not break, on the speedy roads of Finland they jump and stay few seconds in the air (it does require some kind of madness and blind trust in the codriver), on the twisty tarmac of Corsica they pray for the weather to obey their tyre choice, on the Argentine they remember Vatanen accident in the group B, and in the welsh mud they wonder what the hell they are doing out there.

WRC is no vacation. WRC is all about competion, team workt, technical ability, intelligence hard work, driving skills and luck. But then, when you have the gift you get the luck.

The largest manufacturers thus benefitted from this discipline to praise the merits of their cars, to show their quality and their reliability. With time, the amateurs became professionals and the manufacturers as for them created compartments sport to manage that. The results were to follow and considerable means were brought into play so that that arrives. Thus, throughout the year, the teams multiply the tests between the races to reach that point. Indeed, to succeed in this sport, it is necessary to be able to take seconds on the adversary constantly and to have a perfectly regulated car at the beginning of each stage during the three days of competition. Manufacturers specialized in this very technical sport like Michelin and Pirelli (tires), OZ Racing and Speedline (rims) or McPherson (shock absorbers). And if a team allows the least negligence in one field, it can lose the victory like that there was the case with many and many recoveries in the history.

Then, one started to see the large marks unloading in Africa, South America, Australia or in the most beautiful European countries with their team of mechanics, their trucks, their engineers, their racing racing cars... and, of course, their pilots. Thus, Lancia, Fiat, Audi, Peugeot, Toyota or Mitsubishi have marked the rally world forever just like it was the case for rallymen such as Juha Kankkunen, Stig Blomqvist, Walter Röhrl, Ari Vatanen, Bjorn Waldegaard, Tommi Mäkinen and Carlos Sainz.

At the beginning, the rallies were races which lasted more than one week the goal being to join a point without having course to respect nor timed sectors, the winner was the one who arrived the first. Then, rules were founded and this sport professionnalized itself.

Today, a rally proceeds over four days. Thursday, the teams take part to the "shakedown", day that one could qualify of free tests. Then the race proceeds in three legs Friday, saturday and Sunday. Each leg is broken up into several timed portions, the "special stages", which are connected between them by connections which them proceed on roads open to circulation and where the pilots must respect the highway code. On somes rallies, there are also "special stages" the evening, timed courses on circuit, long from hardly 1 or 2 km, where 2 drivers clash coast at coast, the principal interest being the spectacle more than the race since the winners do not gain there whom some little hundredths.

The great authorities of this sport noting the growing popularity of the rally, a world championship was created : for the manufacturers in 1973 and for the drivers 6 years later, in 1979. In parallel, there is the co-driver championship.

The Group B in the Eighties is without doubt the paroxysm of the rally, years where we could see racing cars such as the Peugeot 205 T16 or the Audi Quattro which developed up to 500 ch. but these cars being too dangerous (what was checked by several accidents fatal), the FIA put the end to that and appeared in 1987 the Group A for replace it, this last which disappear in 1997 leaving its place to the WRC when the engine power is fixed at 300 ch. Incontestably, Lancia is the mark which marked this "pilot" sport the most gaining 4 driver titles and 10 manufacturer ones.

This championship was also declined in several parallel championships in order to make it possible more to pilots to benefit from this sport. Thus one saw appearing the championship Groupe N (for the production cars) in 1987, a championship Team'S Cup (for the semi-private teams) in 1998 but quickly stopped (at the end of 2001) and more recently the Championship Junior (JWRC), launching pad of the future stars of the WRC (S1600 cars and limited age to 28 years old) in 2001.

WRC official website : www.wrc.com

Accueil

Le WRC

WRC = World Rally Championship = Championnat du Monde des Rallyes

Le rallye est sûrement l'un des sports les plus dangereux et spectaculaires qu'il existe. Sur les routes les plus accidentées du monde, des voitures sur-vitaminées déboulent à toute vitesse pour signer un chrono époustouflant à des vitesses faramineuses. A leur volant, des hommes qui n'ont peur de rien et qui à chaque instant risquent leur vie pour essayer de dompter les spéciales d'un championnat du monde de plus en plus exigeant qui a su se donner les moyens de se rendre plus impressionnant et attractif. Ces derniers capables de braver les pires conditions imaginables pour s'imposer sur l'un des 16 pays accueillant le mondial : que ce soit sur les routes piégeuses du Monte Carlo, sur l'épaisse neige suédoise, sur les pistes pierreuses de l'Acropole, sur les chemins cassants de Chypre, sur les routes bondissantes et rapides de la Finlande, sur l'asphalte sinueux corse, dans les montagnes argentines ou encore dans la boue galloise.

Les plus grands constructeurs ont donc profité de cette discipline pour vanter les mérites de leurs voitures, pour montrer leur qualité et leur fiabilité. Avec le temps, les amateurs sont devenus des professionnels et les constructeurs ont quant à eux créé des compartiments sport pour gérer cela. Les résultats devaient suivre et des moyens considérables ont été mis en jeu pour que ça arrive. Ainsi, tout au long de l'année, les équipes multiplient les tests entre les rallyes pour y parvenir. En effet, pour réussir dans ce sport, il faut pouvoir grappiller des secondes sur l'adversaire à tout moment et que la voiture soit parfaitement réglée au début de chaque spéciale durant les trois jours de compétition. Des fabricants se sont spécialisés dans ce sport très technique comme Michelin et Pirelli (pneumatiques), OZ Racing et Speedline (jantes) ou McPherson (amortisseurs). Et si une équipe se permet la moindre négligence dans l'un de ces domaines, elle peut y perdre la victoire comme ça a été le cas à mainte et maintes reprises dans l'histoire.

Alors, on a commencé à voir les grandes marques débarquer en Afrique, en Amérique du sud, en Australie ou dans les plus beaux pays européens avec leur équipe de mécanos, leurs camions, leurs ingénieurs, leurs voitures de course… et, bien sûr, leurs pilotes. Ainsi, Lancia, Fiat, Audi, Peugeot, Toyota ou encore Mitsubishi auront marqué à jamais le monde du rallye tout comme ce fut le cas pour des rallymen tels que Juha Kankkunen, Stig Blomqvist, Walter Röhrl, Ari Vatanen, Bjorn Waldegaard, Tommi Mäkinen et Carlos Sainz.

Au début, les rallyes étaient des courses qui duraient plus d'une semaine, le but étant de rejoindre un point précis, sans qu'il n'y ait de secteurs chronométrés, le vainqueur était désigné d'après plusieurs critères, esthétiques, de régularité, de confort.... Puis des règles ont été instaurées et ce sport s'est professionnalisé.

Aujourd'hui, un rallye se déroule sur quatre jours. Le jeudi, les équipes participent à ce que l'on appelle "le shakedown", jour que l'on pourrait qualifier d'essais. Puis la course se déroule en trois étapes, une le vendredi, une le samedi et une le dimanche. Chaque étape est décomposée en plusieurs portions chronométrées, les "spéciales", qui sont reliées entre elles par des liaisons qui se déroulent sur routes ouvertes à la circulation et où les pilotes doivent respecter le code de la route. Sur certaines épreuves, il y a également des "super-spéciales" le soir : ce sont des parcours chronométrés sur circuit, longs d'à peine 1 ou 2 km, où 2 pilotes s'affrontent côte à côte, le principal intérêt étant le spectacle plus que la course puisque les vainqueurs n'y gagnent que quelques centièmes.

Les grandes instances de ce sport constatant la popularité grandissante du rallye, un championnat du monde a été créé. D'abord pour les constructeurs en 1973 puis 6 ans plus tard - en 1979 - pour les pilotes. Parallèlement, il y a le championnat copilote.

Le paroxysme de ce sport fut le Groupe B (années 80) où nous pouvions voir des bolides tels la 205 ou la Quattro qui développèrent jusqu'à 500 ch. mais ces voitures étant trop dangereuses (ce qui se vérifia par plusieurs accidents mortels), la FIA a mis fin à cela et on vit alors apparaître en 1987 le Groupe A puis le WRC en 1997 où la puissance est désormais fixée à 300 ch. Incontestablement, Lancia est la marque qui a le plus marqué ce sport remportant 4 titres pilote et 10 constructeur grâce à ses Fulvia, Stratos, 037 et Delta.

Ce championnat se déclina également en plusieurs championnats parallèles afin de permettre à plus de pilotes de profiter de ce sport. Ainsi on vit apparaître des championnats Groupe N (pour les voitures de production) en 1987, un championnat Team's Cup (pour les équipes semi-privées) en 1998 mais vite arrêté (fin 2001) et plus récemment le Championnat Junior (JWRC), rampe de lancement des futures stars du WRC (voitures S1600 et âge limité à 28 ans) en 2001.

Site officiel du WRC : www.wrc.com